Useless

There are few things that are unless in this life, and one of those things happens to be going to bed mad. No matter the day you’ve had, or the week you’ve had there is no reason to go to bed mad. I’ve had a really crummy day today. I won’t lie, it did have some great moments and it also had some really low points.

Here’s the thing, tonight when my head hits that pillow I need to focus on the great things in life, and I need to put aside the harsh realities of the day and focus on going to bed in a good mood. I’m convinced that going to bed mad automatically puts you about 10 steps behind in the next day. Who wants to wake up angry? I can’t wake up on the wrong side of the bed, since it is against a wall in my residence hall, but I could wake up feeling like I got out on the wrong side of the bed. Who wants that though?

My best advice to fight a tough day is a list of three things:

1. get a hug from someone you care about. 2. Write a list of 5 things that went right in that day.

3. Text/email/call/post something on Facebook that is nice and that has the potential to make a friend’s day. (the odds are if you are having a rough day, someone else in the world is right there with you.)

A wise song-writer once said baby this love isn’t going to be perfect, we can fuss and we can fight as long as everything is alright between us before we go to sleep.  I have to give a huge thank you to Ne-yo for giving us that line. The thing is this life isn’t going to be perfect, but make sure that you are feeling better before you go to sleep. Tomorrow, half the things that happened today won’t matter. They will be silly little blimps that upset you for no good reason.

Talk it out though, if you need to talk to someone and get a bunch off of your chest, do it! I know it helps me to let it on this blog, or to even talk to my best friends about what is going on in my life. Even better, remember to be that same friend when the people you’ve run to time and time again need your help. No friend is ever a bother if they are truly a friend.

Oh baby, I know sometimes it’s gonna rain

But baby, can we make up now?

‘Cause I can’t sleep through the pain
Girl, I don’t wanna go to bed mad at you

And I don’t want you to go to bed mad at me

Hopefully tonight you don’t go to bed mad, because the tossing and turning won’t be worth it tomorrow.

Love, Lindsey


April 3, 2013. Tags: , , , , . music.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

